Fists of Fury!

I enter this Lent with a sense of dreadful foreboding.  Well, I always do.  I’m a wuss, and I like desserts.  But this year, there is a different atmosphere surrounding this dread.  I think it’s one of hope.  I can’t be sure, I’m not certain what hope tastes like.  But I have hope (I think) that this season will amount to more than just a 6 week interlude of torture in the midst of Ordinary Time.  Hope and dread.  So if not torture, then why dread?  And I think it’s because I have an awareness that I am about to enter into some serious kung-fu action with the devil.  And he is a wily little weasel, that devil guy.

The story of the Temptation of Christ has provided some of the hope.  Christ’s death and resurrection have forever defeated the devil.  I have participated in this victory through baptism.  But Christ still felt it necessary engage in 40 days of temptation, in which he also defeated the devil.  Lent is my time to participate in that victory too. 

And Jesus, full of the Holy Spirit was led by the Spirit for forty days in the wilderness…  And Jesus returned in the power of the Spirit.

I, full of the Spirit (baptism and confirmation) am also being led by the Spirit into the wilderness for 4o days.  Far from home and its comforts.  Isolation.  Desolation.  But not without hope, for the promise for those who endure to the end is a return from the wilderness in the power of the Spirit.  May it come to pass.  May the Spouse of the Spirit, the Holy and Immaculate Mother of God, intercede for us to that effect!

But we must endure.  What?  Temptation.  Why?

Man shall not live by bread alone.  I must forsake all attachment to that which is wordly.  To what end?

That I may create more space for God.    You shall worship the Lord your God, and him only shall you serve.  Forsake the service, nay! slavery, to all else that I might serve and worship him only.  Joy, power, strength, peace.  The admonition regarding loving one and hating the other comes to mind.  I can’t love, serve and worship both. 

You shall not tempt the Lord you God.  I’m not sure where this fits in yet.  Obviously all presumption that God will provide for lack of prudence in this endeavor must be banished.  But that doesn’t feel like that’s it.  There must be more.  In the midst of my testing and temptation, I must not put him to the test or tempt him.  But how?  How is this something I desperately need to hear at this moment?  Where will I be tempted in this regard?  Hhmmm.

He departed from him until an opportune time.  And we all know what happened that next time.  Death was defeated by death!  So I’m not too worried about that.

~ by Rob on February 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “Fists of Fury!”

  1. I was having a pretty “hopeless” bleak day until I read this. Thanks for posting.

    • Jen!! Right there with ya! I am literally experiencing symptoms of physical withdrawal. Right now (literally), hot ovaltine is my methadone. Taking a bit of the edge off. I read something today that was good. Someone suggesting that we, randomly, break our fasts every Thursday. So that the fast is not an end in itself. And to help focus on the real goal.

      Hang in there. Only 40+ days to go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
