Dig Dug

He is like a man building a house, who dug deep, and laid the foundation upon rock; and when a flood arose, the stream broke against that house, and could not shake it, because it had been well built.  Luke 6:48

This verse seems to be the perfect antidote to the previously expressed sentiment that, though I stand, I live in fear of the next set of circumstances that will undo me.  Indeed, I have long lived with the understanding that I am a man of weak and slothful will, and that I stand merely by an accident of circumstances.  Or, the right set of temptations has not manifested itself.  Hardly high praise.  But Jesus seems to acknowledge this a little bit here.  The storms will come.  The floods will arise.  And how we are able to withstand these calamities is largely dependent on our actions prior to the calamity.  Have we been preparing for the storm by laying as firm a foundation as possible?  Or to change the image, by rooting ourselves as deeply into the soil as possible?  Good Lord, I hope so. 

Who dug deep.  I like that image.  I brings to mind the image of sifting around amidst the wreckage of our post-Christian world, seeking something of value that can endure.  Digging, rooting around, searching beyond the ephemeral, and laying down one’s foundation as deeply as possible, in the solid Rock, that I may not be moved when the storm clouds burst.  And they will burst.  So, get busy, dig, dig while there is yet time.

~ by Rob on January 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
