Election Stuff

I was gonna title this “election thoughts”, but that might be overstating the case a little bit.  It doesn’t seem like there is very much to say.  As a Catholic, I certainly had major problems with both candidates.  McCain favors some forms of embryo-destructive stem cell research and seemed a little itchy on the war front.  Obama favored…well, just about everything I don’t like.  Abortion, infanticide, embryo-destructive research, cloning, civil unions, euthenasia, as well as disastrous financial policies (so far as I can see).  There was much talk among a small insignificant cadre of Catholics (i.e., the bloggers) about this somehow being a difficult moral calculus to make, about how this vote was quite difficult.  I allowed myself to be temporarily swayed by such talk, but recovered in time to make what seemed to me to be the only sane choice, given the choices.  I feel no regret at all over my choice.  It is a “credit” to Obama that he made it so easy to vote McCain.

The whole enterprise felt doomed from the get-go.  And that is certainly how it turned out.  McCain never stood much of a chance.  We steadfastly avoided all reporting during the day of the election, to be woken up at 5:00 am the next day by KYW reporting an Obama victory.  That’s too early for such news.  Don’t get me wrong.  It is wonderful that a black man is now the next president.  How far this nation has come.  But I weep that it was this black man.  We were pretty depressed for a few days, but are slowly starting to wonder if it will be as bad as everyone first thought.  Only time will tell, I suppose.

We certainly fear for the increased access to abortion that will undoubtedly come about.  All those poor children and mothers.  Teenagers need their parents’ permission to join the volleyball team, but soon, not for a gruesome surgical procedure.  How incredibly fucked up that is.  I fear for my ability to be able to support my family, with the increased taxes that will certainly come, whatever promises have been made.  I fear for religious freedom in this country, and for the right to free speech.  I fear for my freedom to raise my children as I see fit.  Mostly, I fear for my children.  Were I single, or married without kids, then I could suck it up and move on.  But how to fend off this increasingly intrusive and wicked world?  How to turn things around before my kids (or their kids) are thrown in jail for confessing Christ, or denouncing certain lifestyles?  Sure, we are not made for this world, but I have no desire for my kids to be dispatched as some sort of martyrs.

And so, while at adoration, praying against hope for some other outcome, I became convinced that I needed to immerse myself in the book of Revelation.  Not because Lord Obama is a sign of a rapidly approaching end (Come, Lord Jesus!), nor because he is to be considered “the” Antichrist, or any such thing.  Rather, the book of Revelation is a book that speaks of the trials of the early church, and Our Lord’s continued lordship in their midst.  Our Lord is working his plan, not despite, but through history.  If this was true under Nero, for whom St. Paul enjoins our intercessions, then it will emphatically be true under the upcoming government.  There is yet hope, but it is not a happy hope.  If anything, this latest turn of history only underscores how much this is not our home.

And so, now what?  I am imbued with the sense that our nation stands on the brink.  What happens next will depend largely on how we respond to the situation.  Is this the beginning of the long defeat, culminating in us being carried off to our own Babylon?  Are the United States to go the way of the once-great and long-lost Rome?  Or will this and other events be a motivational force for us to make great strides towards turning things around?

I don’t know.  As for us, we are greatly saddened, and greatly burdened by the sense that this is all partly our fault.  Reminds me of Thomas Merton’s sense that he was somehow responsible for the Second World War.  And so we are doing penance.  Seeking to make reparation for our lukewarmth towards the atrocity of abortion.  For our slowness to implore Our Lord for grace for our nation.  For our silence in the face of the not-silent.  For our passivity.  And conversely, we are energized to play a much more faithful and vocal role in the defense of the unborn.  In the defense of our Church and our freedoms.  And in the defense of Christ, knowing that he is able work mightily in our weakness and foolishness.

~ by Rob on November 6, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
