The kind of thinking that drives me nuts

If you really want to make progress in the spiritual life, it seems that one really needs a firm and determined purpose to make changes. But how can one achieve a firm purpose if one is so attached to various things that he does not desire to let them go? It would seem that one would need to detach before making one’s purpose firm. But how can you ever hope to detach without a firm purpose already in place? One seems to be stuck in an endless circle. How to break out of such a circle?

Is it simply the old adage that one needs to pray not only for the strength to make changes, but also for the desire? For I confess, I want to live a life of virtue, but I desire it not.

“Purify your hearts, you men of double mind.”

“I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. “

~ by Rob on April 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
