A response

Empy asked me to comment on Isa. 52:13-53:12 and Mic. 6:6-8. An odd and sort-of-out-of-the-blue request, but I have nothing better to do right now.

As for the former, which I won’t quote because of length, it is the passage about the Suffering Servant. This has traditionally been viewed as a type of the Messiah, Jesus Christ, and is describing his suffering through which our salvation was won.

As for the latter, here it is:

“With what shall I come before the LORD, and bow myself before God on high? Shall I come before him with burnt offerings, with calves a year old? Will the LORD be pleased with thousands of rams, with ten thousands of rivers of oil? Shall I give my first-born for my transgression, the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?” He has showed you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?

This is a curious verse, as it reflects a certain tension within later Judaism. After all, God had himself prescribed the various sacrificial offerings after the Exodus, that Micah seems to be here condemning. It almost seems to imply that, even before the sacrifice of Christ which fulfilled all Old Testament sacrifices, God and the Jews were backing off a bit from “all that earlier stuff”. No doubt this was at least in part due to the fact that the Jews had been carried off in exile and their temple had been destroyed. How could a Jew make atonement for sin under such circumstances? No doubt the answer of Psalm 51 was a common answer to such a question: the sacrifice of a “broken and contrite heart”.

So I figure this verse is of a similar vein to that of Psalm 51. The Lord asks more from us than just an external show of repentance (i.e., the offering of various sacrifices), but rather asks that we be truly converted, doing justice, loving kindness, and walking in humility before him.

I hope this scratches whatever was itching you, Empy.

~ by Rob on March 17, 2008.

2 Responses to “A response”

  1. […] and run It would seem, in hindsight, the question put to me a while ago was a hit and run. I’ll admit that my first instinct was to assume such a thing. Usually, […]

  2. Фильм сумерки 2 видео

Leave a Reply

 
