St. Ignatius of Antioch

I am currently searching around for a patron saint. When I was confirmed, I chose the Venerable John Henry Newman as my patron. Which, I was told at the time, was licit. And I have heard nothing to the contrary. But the thing they never explained to me was that I get no feast days when your patron “saint” is only at the level of venerable. And we are trying to incorporate the whole feast day thing into our family life. Child #1 has two feast days: the Presentation (Candlemas) and St. Gerard. Child #2 has one feast day. My wife has one, though she is trying to narrow “Mary” down to a particular titular day. And we want to celebrate all these as not only personal, but familial days. But I don’t have any.

Anyway, all that to say, today’s saint is a definite candidate. As today’s office of readings makes clear, this guy was an absolute giant of the faith. And he was the first Church Father that I read straight through. He was also the first Father I read whose writings started to cause the scales to fall from my eyes. “They believed what? When? Crap!”

St. Francis de Sales is another possibility, as his Introduction to the Devout Life also has had a major impact on me (hard to tell, right). But none really stand out. St. Joseph is another possibility, as is St. Michael.

~ by Rob on October 17, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
