Got it

The book, that is. The Pope’s book. It came out yesterday, and I had been saving the Borders gift certificate I got from my sister for my birthday. Marched out after work to get it. I am a groupie, like I always was. It’s just that the object of my affection has changed. From Def Leppard to Mike Knott to Bill Mallonee to Pope Benedict. I think this is my best phase. I have been waiting for this book for months, ever since excerpts were first published.

First impressions. It rocks. Hard. The foreword is the Pope going through and explaining his exegetical methods. And what I have been really excited about since day 1 is to hopefully learn some new techniques for interpreting the Scriptures. I am familiar with the four senses of Scripture, and reading the Bible within the unity of the whole. But ever since my fundyprot days, I have had a dark and deep suspicion of the historical critical method of interpretation. And that is because those who typically use it use it to make Jesus into yet one more gay icon. Or whatever the author’s favorite issue is. Marxist Jesus. Sexually active Jesus. Revolutionary Jesus. Pacifist Jesus. Whatever. But here is the smartest guy in the world, and a Catholic to boot, and the Pope to double boot, using the method to give us a clearer picture of the historical Jesus, who is the Jesus of faith. So I look forward to that.

So far, I haven’t got too far through the introduction. To this point, the Master is riffing through Deuteronomy: “The Lord your God will raise up for you a prophet like me from among you.” But this does not refer simply to the beginning of the Jewish prophetic tradition. For, “There has not arisen a prophet since in Israel like Moses, whom the Lord knew face to face.” So, quite dejectedly do the Books of Moses end. And yet with hope. For there will arise a prophet like Moses, whom the Lord knows face to face. And this is the central point of the book, according to the foreword. Jesus cannot be properly understood apart from his profound communion with the Father, face to face.

Can’t wait to read more.

~ by Rob on May 16, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
