The Rosary

The daily rosary has been one of my lenten commitments…trying to re-incorporate it into my prayer life after my attempt to replace it with “silence” turned into me just sitting around thinking about whatever I felt like. Granted: I pray it in the car on the way to work, which is not necessarily the environment most conducive to Deep Life-Changing Meditation(TM). However. It’s the only time I have. And I may as well use it for something better than listening to Zeppelin.

The daily rosary can get really boring. After a while, meditating on the same thing over and over again can lead to deep rut-digging. I (was going to say “one”, but it’s probably just me) tend to think the same thoughts over and over again. Example: for the Resurrection…the thought is always about Jesus as the New Adam, laying “formless” in the dust, and being called forth by the life-giving Spirit of God. Wow, that’s deep, man. Well, no…it’s not. And certainly not after meditating on it for the 100th time. Like blood from a stone.

Lately, my morning prayer has consisted of Lectio Divina (a fancy Catholic term to make us feel all cool about doing what just about every Protestant was taught to do at age 6: pray the Scriptures). I typically try to hone in on one particular concept or truth or whatever…and go with it. And this is where the Rosary gets interesting again. Because, then I can “meditate” on whatever mysteries the day holds through the prism of that one concept. Example: today’s Lectio (oooh, look! It’s even italicized!) was in John 5, and the “concept” (only for lack of a better word) was “Jesus as the one who contains and distributes Life”. Then I was able to “meditate” on the Luminous Mysteries from the standpoint of “Jesus the Life-Giver”. It sounds a little gimmicky, I know. And no doubt, bringing together some “mysteries” and “concepts” will be a little like wine and toothpaste. But it works for now. And I need all the help I can get.

~ by Rob on April 5, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
